Our Ministry Team

Senior Pastor

Stephen Taylor

Stephen has been heading up the ministry team since 2015. He trained at Moore Theological College before spending 21 years at Tweed Heads Presbyterian Church. Stephen is married to Kaylene and they have three great kids – Sam, Jemma and Josh. Stephen loves preaching from the Bible, caring pastorally for his fellow Christians and running short term mission trips to Vanuatu. In his spare time he loves time spent with his family, playing and watching soccer and travelling to new places.

Associate Pastor

Jon Brown

Jon is married to Ang and they have three sons, Ambrose, Barnabas, and Clement. Jon finished at Queensland Theological College in 2017, served at a church near Geelong, and in 2020 was inducted and ordained as the associate minister at Charlestown Presbyterian Church. Jon loves Jesus, sharing the gospel with people, country music, and coffee (in that order).

Children’s Worker

Suzie Chesterfield

Suzie has been working as the Family and Children’s worker since June 2017. She leads and coordinates the church’s ministries for children including Kids Church, Kids Club and Sparklers playgroup. Suzie is married to Aaron and has 3 children Yvette, Alyssa and James. She loves being a mum and enjoying family fun with her hubby and kids, spending time with children and their families at playgroup and church, and helping people grow in their knowledge and love of Jesus. In her spare time, Suzie loves to walk, ride her bike, swim, read and catch up with her wider family.

Pastoral Care Worker

Joanna Barlow

Jo heads up the pastoral care team and is responsible for music at the church. She is married to Malcolm, with whom she has two adult sons, and works part-time as a psychiatrist. In what remains of her time, Jo enjoys tackling the occasional cryptic crossword, Parkruns and cooking up a storm in her Thermomix.


Steve Gillard, Rob Hearn, Ross Logan & David Wigney

The spiritual work of the church is overseen by a Session of 6 elders – Jon Brown, Steve Gillard, Rob Hearn, Ross Logan, Stephen Taylor, and David Wigney.

Website with thanks to Simon Wright